Ava’s Awesome Antics #27

Posted on

2014-10-20 18.03.21Today, on what would have been April’s and my 13th Wedding Anniversary, the girls and I were at the cemetery visiting with April.

All and all, we were all doing pretty good emotionally.

As she sometimes does, when it’s time to go, Ava continued to sit in front of her mom’s grave marker.

What she did next sent tears flowing down my cheeks.

She reached her little hand forward and touched the picture of her mom.

Then she brought her fingers up to her lips and kissed them.

Then she reached them back down and pressed them on her mom’s picture.

A moment later she looked up at me and said, “I gave mommy a kiss.”

It was all I could do to muster up a, “That’s great baby.  I know she really appreciates it.”

Ava walked off to the car and I had to walk the other direction for a bit to get my emotions in check.

It was such a beautiful gesture.

I miss April being around and beyond my own selfish desire to see her, I miss her interacting with the girls.

But I am thankful for the mom that she was, the memories we have, and the influence she is on our lives.

We are blessed.  Isaiah 41:10

Leave a Reply

